top of page
Weekend 8

October 26-27, 2013

Northeastern rounded out October by hosting the 75th Annual Oberg Trophy (B-level), with over 100 NEISA sailors competing in 3 divisions off of the MIT docks in FJ's and Fireflies. Saturday brought heavy winds and cold weather, with gusts up to 25 knots testing the fleet's limits. Sunday was lighter and steadier, with breeze from 10-15 knots. Coach Farrar and Northeastern's race committee were efficient in running the busy regatta, completing 54 races throughout all divisions.


Conor Lodge skippered A division with crews Estelle Beguin and Becker Awqatty. Jesse Thomas skippered C division with crews Laura Tschiegg and Luke Orchardo. Skippers Scott Goodrich , Elise Gehling and Maarten Eenkema van Dijk sailed in B division with crews Taylor Williams, Liz Sczerzenie and Janelle Veary. The Huskies had a slow start on a long Saturday of racing and ended up 14th of 18 overall. The regatta served as a valuable warmup for the Schell Trophy at the same venue next weekend.


On Sunday, the Huskies competed at UNH in the Wellahan Trophy (C-level). Awqatty skippered A division with Linnea Goldstein and Tori McGruer and Sczerzenie in B division. Over 6 races, both divisions sailed consistently at the top of the fleet. Awqatty and Goldstein tied for first place in A division, which lifted the Huskies to a tie for first overall. Northeastern won the tiebreaker with BU, and the Huskies finished first place in the regatta! It was Northeastern's first win at a scoring regatta during this season.

Conor and Becker on Saturday

Jesse and Laura tacking

bottom of page